women’s rock retreat: what a weekend!

August 27, 2008 at 7:39 pm | Posted in rock-n-roll | Leave a comment

As mentioned previously, I attended the Women’s Rock Retreat to benefit Girls Rock NC.

I’ve been back for a bit now. Putting all the thoughts in my head into words that convey all the emotion and exhiliration I feel has been difficult.

The weekend climaxed with a concert at The Cave in Chapel Hill. My band, Rhythm Sects, performed two songs: “Self Defense” and “Life’s Race.”

Performing was amazing. I can’t put into words the feeling. When I walked off the “stage” (anyone who’s been to The Cave understands my use of quotes), I felt dizzy and like I was going to pass out. But in a good way…

So, how did I get there?

My husband found an article about Girls Rock NC several months ago in the Triangle Business Journal. I contacted them immediately to ask about volunteering. I played roadie at one of the girls’ shows – selling t-shirts and other merch. It was fantastic. The women who run GRNC are amazingly talented and energetic and Later I found out they were doing this Women’s Rock Weekend as a fundraiser for the organization. Totally signed up.

I don’t really play an instrument. I played cello and clarinet years ago. But haven’t really played anything since leaving high school. A bass guitar has been sitting around for a few months that I’ve been dying to play. One of the girls takes electric guitar lessons, my husband plays drums, so I wanted to take on an instrument that would allow us all to jam in the garage.

I was worried that I would be behind, not knowing how to play my instrument. But that wasn’t the case at all. There were women who had never picked up any musical instrument at all to women who played for fun to women who played professionally. And the best thing was that all of these women were tremendous, amazing, fantastic, inspiring.

Even as a grown woman, this experience gave me the feeling of empowerment and self-confidence. Imagine how a 12-year-old girl feels when she stands on a stage and has hundreds of people cheering for her? The same way: empowered, self-confident, amazing. And what a great way for a young girl to feel about herself.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

